Beginner with a New Addiction - Need Some Club Guidance?

pipeline

Reaction score
Handicap
Hey Everyone,

First off, thanks for having me! I look forward to contributing when I have some ka-nowledge to drop. Although, that will be in many years when I have some experience to speak of. ;-)

I have been reading and reading threads here, thp and wrx on the subject of SGIs for high handicappers. From my understanding, the static stats below are what I need to make choices other than swing speed.

Age (for color) = 28
Rounds Played (for color) = 17 over the past 2 months

Longest Finger = 3.25"
Hand Length = 8"
Wrist to Floor = 36.75"
Height = 6' 0.75"
Club Extra Length = +0.25"
Ping Lie Angle = Upright 3 Degrees
Taylormade Lie Angle = Upright 1 Degree
Swing Speed = Unknown (Guessing Regular Flex - I take a smooth controlled stroke - not power hitting yet until I get extremely comfortable in my own skin/swing)

What I have gathered so far is that there are an assortment of clubs that would be fitting. Some that I have in mind are as follows:
- Ping G5 (white)
- Ping G15 (white)
- Ping G20 (white)
- Ping G25 (white)
- Mizuno JPX 800
- Taylormade Rocketballz
- Callaway RAZR
- Callaway X-Hot
- Adams Super S
- Titleist AP1

PING makes it pretty clear which one "fits" the player by utilizing color codes (white for example is where I fall). Others dont seem to have a "pre-fit". Am I right to think you would need to take each club and have it fitted after purchase?

Lend me your comments and suggestions on all fronts. I would GREATLY appreciate it!
(Note: lessons are being taken ;-)

Hey Everyone,

First off, thanks for having me! I look forward to contributing when I have some ka-nowledge to drop. Although, that will be in many years when I have some experience to speak of. ;-)