Burner 2.0 irons versus RAZR X Tours

wcugrad

Reaction score
Handicap
I am new to THP, but have been reading extensively about several iron sets. I have spent time at Golfsmith and Golf Galaxy hitting several different clubs, and seem to be narrowing my decision down to the TaylorMade Burner 2.0s or the RAZR X Tours (although I spent a LOT of time reading through the Wilson Staff Di 11 thread, too - just can't find them anywhere to hit).

I know there are threads on these as reviews individually, but I would really like some more head-to-head comparisons. It appears that several of the guys on here have spent time with each. I am around a 10 handicap, and really just started playing golf "seriously" in the past 2 years (seriously meaning averaging 30 - 40 rounds per year). I have drastically slowed down my swing to concentrate on tempo and contact (smooth is the swing thought), and on the monitors I have been hitting the Burner 6i roughly 180 - 190 yards and the RAZR X about 165 to 175. Similar ball flight and dispersion with each. With the Burners having lower lofts, I would say I really hit each about the same - but that has been with the 6i as my only reference point.

I don't have any built-in allegiance to any of the brands, and I don't care what I have to hit from certain distances as long as they perform. I am also fine with playing GI or even SGI clubs - they can look like shovels as long as the put me on more greens. Typically the only really nice clubs I get are hand-me-downs from my father or older brother, or are older models that I have bought every 3 or 4 years (last two sets have been TM RAC OS followed by my current Nickent 4DX CB combo set).

I am planning on treating myself (but still with a budget) for my upcoming 40th birthday, and wanted to get some of you to weigh in on your likes and dislikes specifically comparing clubs to one another. All help and posts are greatly appreciated!!!

Very different irons.