How Much is Too Much

Franklin51

On the Verge
Reaction score
Handicap
Never really had this problem until now but how much scuff on a golf ball is too much? Reason I say I never had this problem is this is my first year with good wedges (588) and a good ball (Penta TP).

personally, i hate scuffed golf balls. I don't know if those scuffs actually do anything to the ball flight, but it gets in my head. I usually play with them until I lose it, which doesn't take long. Otherwise they make nice additions to the shag bag for shortgame practice.

If it ain't broken keep playing with it. Chances are i'll loose it before it gets to scuffed anyway !!!

depends? i mean...if i hit a brand new ball out of the pack and i slice it with a wedge, (actually SEE the lines cut into the ball) i might take it out of play...if i've played a few holes and there are relatively light scuffs/scrapes i'll keep it in.

TP's cost too much to take them out of play just because of scuffs. New wedge groove marks on the ball are nothing. Keep the high quality ball in play as long as you can. Just place the ball while putting so that you don't make contact with the scuff marks.

it's really a personal thing. Generally I'll keep it in play until maye 1/4-1/3 of the ball is scuffed, then put it in my bag to bring out during a round which I'm not doing so well. It can make a difference, but only if you're getting lots of spin, and happen to hit that scuffed spot where the grooves on the ball is worn down. I'm not good enough to worry about it to that degree though!

personally, i hate scuffed golf balls. I don't know if those scuffs actually do anything to the ball flight, but it gets in my head. I usually play with them until I lose it, which doesn't take long. Otherwise they make nice additions to the shag bag for shortgame practice.

Ditto!

I say the better you do with a scuffed ball think of the potential with a brand new ball!

One wedge scuff is OK, two is not good for me.