Suggestions for SGI Clubs for a newbie

scottemory72

Reaction score
Handicap
I'm brand new to golf and I'm looking at getting a new set of Super Game Improvement Clubs; can you suggest some brands and models I can research and try out?

Adams makes some great SGI sets. a120S, a70S, a40S, a30S are all in that genre and come at different price points.

Cleveland has the HB3 and 588 Altitude irons.

There are a bunch of them out there. How much are you looking to spend?

First off, welcome to THP. Glad you found us.

I would tell you that almost every single brand out there has an iron that fits this bill. From there it would probably be based on what you like the look of most, and what budget you have set.

If you are brand new to golf, I would recommend looking at something that might be easier on the wallet because as you get that swing honed, you will certainly be trying different things that fit you a little better.

Cobra Baffler Irons or the hybrid/iron combo set is one you should definitely give a swing.

Take a look at some used Pings, (G10 or G15), Taylormade (RAC, RAC OS), Callaway (X22's). For new, the Ping G20. Of course get fitted first and take some lessons.

I'm brand new to golf and I'm looking at getting a new set of Super Game Improvement Clubs; can you suggest some brands and models I can research and try out?

What are you playing right now?

Have you hit any of the SGI's?

If you are brand new to golf, I would recommend looking at something that might be easier on the wallet because as you get that swing honed, you will certainly be trying different things that fit you a little better.

That is great advice so is looking into a few lessons

Search Wilson Di 11 irons review on this site and you'll find some positive reviews. They can be found on line for about $250 or so. Some of the big box stores, Golfsmith, PGA Superstore, etc. may still have some in stock. It's a 2011 model I think.