Hitting from downhill lies

Spinscan

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
The course I usually frequent has 2 holes, #'s 9 & 18 that require a shot over a creek from a slightly downhill lie. These are both par 5's and after my tee shot I am usually left with a minimum of 120 yds up to 175 yds to carry the creek to be in position for my 3rd shot.

My problem is that I frequently hit it fat or very thin (worm burner) and wind up in the creek. On #9 the creek also runs up the left side of the fairway all the way to the green and many times when I do make good contact I hook it left into the creek.

I have read a lot about hitting from downhill lies, moving the ball back in your stance, using a more lofted club, etc, etc.

Sorry for the long post. Any advice would be appreciated.

I am not a pro, but I think I may be able to help.

I often have a shot over water on a downhill lie. My particular troublesome shot is less yards (like 100 yard and in) than yours, but I think it is the same idea. This advise is from my pro when I asked him how to hit this shot at a lesson.

Stand so that your shoulders match the slope of the ground. Put the back farther back in your stance. Take one club less, and make a 3/4 swing.
You take one club less because you are going to be de-lofting it and it will not go as high.

If your course is not busy next time you play, I would put a couple balls down at the point and hit a few to get the idea.

I apologize if this was for the pro. I read the sticky thing after I posted.

Last edited:
Koko is right. THe key to playing shots from an uphill or downhill lie is to first set you shoulders parallel to the slope. On a downhill lie take 1 club less and swing easy. The slope will de-loft the club for you. No need to try and kill it here the ball will come off lower and with little or now spin so it will run out. Give it a try and next time you are at the range see if you can find some slopes to practice on.