David Frederick

Reaction score
Handicap
I have used interlocking grip since I started playing at the beginning of this year. Other than not hitting the ball as long as I would like, I have been fairly happy with my progress. Yesterday at the range I decided to hit a few with a baseball grip with my left thumb into my right palm. Felt better and went about half club longer on the 7 iron I was hitting. Anyone else make that switch and did it help or just beginners luck? Thanks, David

I have tried it here and there and I did not have any luck so I have gone back and stayed with the interlock grip. That is the one that works for me. I would try and see what works best for you.

Good luck!

Sent from my Liquid JB Gnex

When I first started golfing as a kid I used the baseball grip and always had a big slice. About 2 years ago I finally switched to an overlap grip and the difference for me is much better. I feel I have more control over the club and more distance. But that's just me.

I used the interlock grip for many, many years, but this year I decided to commit to a better grip which is the ten finger grip. After struggling with being able to get my bottom hand in the correct position, I tried the ten finger grip and it was much easier to get the bottom hand in the correct position. I haven't looked back.

Last edited:
I have used a ten finger grip for as long as i have played (25+ years). No issues here.

I've used a baseball grip for my entire golfing life. Talking with my instructor at my first lesson ever a few weeks ago, he said that it was a very good neutral grip and actually, worked very well for golfers if you are comfortable doing it. I think the big thing is having that "neutral" grip. If you feel comfortable with it and it's not messing up your game, I would stick with it. But you always have your old grip to fall back on if things go awry.