Good choices or bad choices for a beginner?

Grandadddy

Reaction score
Handicap
[SUB]Well, I'm not technically a beginner. But when you play 3 times a year, you're no better than a beginner (at least I'm not.) I'm pretty terrible, but I'd like to improve enough to play a bit socially and for business.

I'm looking at a used set of clubs that seems to represent a good bargain, but I don't want to buy the wrong thing simply because it's cheap.

Here's what's included:

Callaway X-20 steel uniflex 3.4.5.6.7.8.9.pw, s/a
New Ping B60 v2 putter
Callaway Fusion FT-3 driver (10 degree)
Callaway Steel Head 3
Callaway carry bag

I can pick the whole thing up for $250.

I had been looking at Callaway Diablo Edge Irons, which from what I've read are among the most forgiving clubs out there.

Since I'm so bad, and since I'm not going to become a great golfer (although I do want to improve) I'm wondering how much more forgiving the Diablo Edges would be compared to the X-20s. I know they are considered more forgiving, but is it by a significant amount, or is the difference relatively subtle?

I can buy a set of used Diablo Edges for probably $175 used or $225 new, but then I'd have to buy a driver, some other woods, a putter, etc. to round out a set. Again, I don't want the price to be the determining factor, but if the X-20s and the Diablos Edges are really similar, the set described above would be an inexpensive and simple way to go.

I don't want to make a mistake though, for the sake of saving $100 or so altogether. I want to buy the right thing - something that will help me to reach "respectable" playing level.

[/SUB]

I'd say it is good. If you ever get the chance though, go through a proper fitting. You might find a tweak here or there will help you along. Driver loft for example is a stab in the dark without a fitting. Hope they work for you!