Small Pitch Shot: Help

VanillaEps

Reaction score
Handicap
Need a little help with a small pitch shot. The type of shot required when you're out 20-30 yards and the chip won't work cause you need to carry small bunker. I have no problems with a full swing pitch shot. But, when I try to dial down the swing, I always wind up either shanking the ball to the right or the ball seems to be skulled and it skips away from me.

My clubface is open. My stance is also open. I try to envision a 9 o'clock to 3 o'clock beginning to finish, but most of the time, shank it to the right. What do you think my problem is? Am I supposed to be swinging along target line or along my body line? That may be my problem....

Im no professional, but my gut feeling is that you are decelerating too much. It is causing a lapse and making you skull or shank the ball. You could also be trying a little too hard to help the ball up in the air and lifting up at the waist.

You may want to pose this question in our "ask the pro" section as he is one of the best sources of information on this forum for swing tips.

Im no professional, but my gut feeling is that you are decelerating too much. It is causing a lapse and making you skull or shank the ball. You could also be trying a little too hard to help the ball up in the air and lifting up at the waist.

You may want to pose this question in our "ask the pro" section as he is one of the best sources of information on this forum for swing tips.
+1. Accelerate through the ball.

Need a little help with a small pitch shot. The type of shot required when you're out 20-30 yards and the chip won't work cause you need to carry small bunker. I have no problems with a full swing pitch shot. But, when I try to dial down the swing, I always wind up either shanking the ball to the right or the ball seems to be skulled and it skips away from me.