Thanks Satchmo, Trout Bum & EaglevsFalcon for the info! All this discussion makes me regret not learning how to play guitar when I was young! Still - lookingforward to learnng & having fun.

It's never too late! There are so many ways to start learning so go and try, you won't regret it!

It's never too late! There are so many ways to start learning so go and try, you won't regret it!

+1000

sent without the boss's knowledge...

Trout bum said it pretty well, it's all subjective to one' ear and preference. Every guitarist has some sort of tone they desire, some want a warm singing tone, others want a harsh high gain tone. For me what a tube amp gives me is sustain, warmth and a nice consistent breakup. I've played several solid state amps and hybrids in the past and they didn't give me what I wanted, then I started playing through tube amps and saw a huge difference. I've played hand wired boutique amps as well as affordable tube amps from blackstar to vox etc and have developed a preference for amps that run el34 tubes, they offer what a lot of amps with el84 tubes don't offer, and that is well defined low end, tight mids and smooth highs and sustain.

As far as what type of el34 to use, every manufacture makes their own type of tube with different characteristics, I use ehx el34 because they offer a deep and tight bass, sweet and well defined mids, and highs are detailed and extended. Every preamp tube also can affect the overall tone, some people like pre amp tubes that give high gain, others lower gain.

Anyone who has hit the world of tune amps has a hard time going back to solid state amps, because it's hard to replicate the warmth, sustain and response. A dirty tube amp will easily clean up with a simple roll of the guitar's volume knobs. Many guitarists do not know how big of an instrument the guitar volume knob can be.