Chicago area thread (Northern IL, Milwaukee, Northern Indiana too)

Make sure to check out the "Southern Iowa Gettogether for summ 2014" thread. We may be able to carpool?

That would be a blast! I'm thinking I may have already maxed-out my golf playing/event budget, but maybe not. (Though, there are signs of potential cost-cutting measures at work, so I'm starting to keep an eye on that, too.) If the timing/budget works-out, I could see it as a possibility.

hey guys, new to thp. my wife and i are moving to the wheaton area. any suggestions on some quality practice facilities? maybe grass teas for the summer and and indoor area for the winter?

Welcome to THP! As others have said, you'll have a good number of decent options for both in-season and off-season golfing. I'm a little jealous, as we don't have as many options on the far north side.

Hello All- I'm fairly new to THP, but have been following this thread for a little while now. I would definitely be interested in getting together with some other guys to play if available for the weekends mentioned. ("Boss" willing...) So far, I would agree with what most have said. Blackstone is one of the best courses in Northern Illinois--just need the Golfnow value. Marengo Ridge is the value pick. The Highlands in Elgin is fast becoming one of my favorite courses. Should definitely consider it for a weekend outing. A couple others that aren't too far out of the general vicinity that would fit the bill would include Foxford Hills in Cary or any of the courses in Geneva (Settler's Hill, Tanna Farms, Mill Creek).

I look forward to attempting to keep up here! Hopefully will get the opportunity to play with you all soon!

Welcome aboard, cadets! I'm glad to see a bigger THP contingent in the Chicago-area. There were a few rounds played, last season with THPers, in the area. Hopefully, we can pull some more this year, maybe even doing something in each "vicinity".