Weight lifting and golf

prrc

Reaction score
Handicap
Does any one have a routine that they like that doesn't destroy there golf game. I love the gym. My work out consist of more of a body build route. This kills my golf game. Keeps me stiff sore muscles all the time and about as flexible as a new broom. I need to change what I do in the gym. can anyone suggest a routine that will still let me go to the gym and not have my golf game suffer.

I lift for power. Big bar lifts and compound exercises. I find that body building type programs aren't very beneficial for anything. If your weight program is limiting range of motion, then something is wrong with the program. IMO. I'm not a fitness professional

Ive been gyming since about 15 (now 35) and from 20-25 went hardout & went from a weedy 70kg to 85kg. When I took up golf at 30 & found my flexibility was pretty average. So I made an effort to do more stretching but about two years ago I took up yoga. Help flexibility heaps. Now I just do a basic weights routine twice a week to keep some form & do yoga twice a week + some resistance training at home. Ive dropped 4 kgs but gained speed ;-)

As a life long weight lifter and now 55 yrs and I have all the injuries to show what improper working out will do for you. I spent from 16 to 30 trying to reach 250 lbs and the rest of the time (mostly the last 10 years) trying to get back to 200 lbs.

Stay away from heavy bench / shoulder pressing IMO, I now have the shoulder problems to show for what I did. Yeah benching 300 lbs is cool at the time, now it just seemed dumb and hurts every morning.

I still work out almost everyday but it is lighter weight, core & leg work and Cardio, its hard to believe when you are young what the long term affects will be to being fit or muscle heavy and of course notice all the skinny guys driving it 290- 300 yds!