BRISTOL86

Reaction score
Hi Guys

I'm a newbie golfer and have been going to the driving range once a week and hitting 100 balls for the last month. I'm getting blisters on my right hand (I'm right handed by the way) both at the base of my index finger and on the outer right edge of my ring finger, just below the knuckle.

Is this normal in beginner golfers, or does it indicate there is something incorrect in my grip/set up?

Many thanks

I have calluses in both those spots. I'm terrible though, so I'm not advocating it lol. Might see a pro about your grip. I've been working on loosening mine lately and that has helped.

I have calluses in both those spots. I'm terrible though, so I'm not advocating it lol. Might see a pro about your grip. I've been working on loosening mine lately and that has helped.

Yes I did wonder whether this was a result of a very firm grip, everything I read suggests that you should make as loose a grip as possible on the club, but I find it very difficult not to strangle the club!

It is difficult, especially if you're trying to steer the ball.

Try some golfer's tape on your fingers. Might help until you figure out if your grip is the problem but you can still continue to practice/play. I use it from time to time...I must have sensitive hands. lol

I tape both those spots every time I hit balls or play.

I agree. I'm lucky that I've never had this issue and I agree that maybe your pro could offer some advice. You might want to go with tape or something as well or wear two clubs for now.

Blisters are a sign of a bad grip/swing. True story

Not always.
FWIW, both Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson have had blisters this year on their hands.
Could be any number of things, such as moisture on hands and grips that do not handle it well.

I have a massive callous on my right ring finger where it makes contact with my glove on my left hand.

Buy this, thank me later :) - http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B001OPLTQY?pc_redir=1404490333&robot_redir=1