Electronics Pondering

Status
Not open for further replies.
Rock, I would think that you would have to still run an app on your phone but I am by no means an expert. Still convenient as heck to just start your phone, link to your band and put the phone in your bag and play.

That's actually pretty much what i was thinking. The watch itself has all of 64mb of storage/capacity. So the watch would have to link to the phone, which it already is supposed to anyways via bluetooth. If I were designing it, which I'm not a programmer, I would initiate golf play on the phone. Probably by making sure its linked to the band. I choose the golf course, and the phone sends appropriate GPS info to my Band. Ok, here's the part that is actually exciting to me. My phone never has to turn on its own gps. In fact, my phone doesn't even have to provide continuous info to the band. The small amount of course data is already on the band for the round. The Band has a GPS in it, so it utilizes its own GPS, saving my phone's battery life. Once done, any stats plugged in on the Band (if any) sync back to the phone for stat keeping purposes, and 'deletes' the course GPS info, so as not to use up what little space there is on the device.

The Pros, my phone stayed in the bag except at the start and end of the round, and the band took care of the GPS during the actual golfing.

Just my thoughts on the matter.

~Rock

Well I dropped my phone tonight and the screen shattered, so I decided it was a good time to upgrade to the S5. Is anyone using an extended battery like the Zero Lemon on their S5? I loved it on my S4, but I dont really like the cases they offer for the S5. Anker has one but I have no experience with them. Any opinions?