Question on playing the game...

patcopaul

Reaction score
Handicap
Hi folks,
I'm new to the game. I've ben playing about 18 months. That said I play 3 or 4 times a week, I know, it's a hard life. My score is currently circling around 100 but I am improving.
The issue... I joined a Thursday night league for the first time and in my first competition I kicked butt, but, the way I did it has me a bit concerned. I played the par 4s as a par 5 and the par 5s as a par 6. I did this is by not even trying to hit the green on my second shot (or third on par 5s) but hitting a short iron and laying up. It worked, I had my best round ever.
My question... Am I slowing my progress by not hitting my longer clubs and even trying to reach the greens or am I right to just look at the score and let my long irons take care of themselves over time. I want to be a good competitor and the folks I'm playing against my deserve my best game but I want to improve my game as quickly as possible. To do that I should hit my longer clubs and play the game as it was intended.
What do you think?

Definitely not slowing your progress. In fact you are making good progress because you are learning course management. Over time, distance will increase, the swing will be more repeatable and you will be able to take more chances.

I say stick to your current plan until you have more confidence with your long game. You shot the best round ever, that tells you something. You're less likely to get into trouble with the shorter irons. You'll see improvement in your game by bettering your short game. Don't worry about what the other players think of how you got the score you did, in that format it's about getting points for your team.