Golf Shoe question

williaza

Reaction score
Handicap
Im going to ask another question to all since I have gotten so much great feedback from the prior 2. Like I've said im a newbie (started from scratch this past April) I have gotten serious and really enjoy the game. I initially bought the cheapest Nike spikeless shoes that I found in Dicks.

I am now looking to upgrade my footwear and wanted to ask peoples opinions on spikeless vs soft spike? Also i have been told by a few older guys at my club that you should always buy golf cleats one size big..any thoughts on this?

Complete personal preference as far as spike types go. I find most shoes run pretty true to size these days

To answer the first question, it is really personal preference. I have "a few" pairs of golf shoes and wear both types frequently.

To the second question I disagree, but that is completely dependent on the shoe and how their sizing runs.

Friend of mine wears spikeless and sometimes has trouble with his footing when the grass is wet, so keep that in mind.

I prefer spikeless but its all personal preference. Id just try a ton on and see what feels comfortable. I definitely WOULD NOT own a pair of golf shoes if they weren't comfortable. That's key for me

I prefer soft spikes and would disagree on the sizing. I am size 12 in both and they are comfy. If anything you want them a little tighter then your normal street show IMO. You don't want to swing out your shoes

Sent from my Verizon iPhone using Tapatalk

The choice is preference by the person. I buy shoes that are usually same size as my sneakers. Some may vary by 1/2 a size but that varies by brand

I almost always wear spikeless, I like that I can put them on at home and wear them to the course, it is very convenient for me.