Car Hunt recommendations

Tuna, I'd take a really good look at the Hyundai's especially with their prices in Canada... The new Sonata and Elantra (2011) look great. I drive a Sonata right now and I have zero complaints, I'll be trading later this year and I'll be getting the new Sonata or Elantra...

Wow, another new car shopper. Enjoy your new ride when you get it. Just got GG a new car and she loves it.

I drive a bunch of cars as I travel all week for work and use 2 -3 rentals per week. Of the cars you listed I enjoyed the new Chevy Cruze, seemed like a solid build with nice features and it was tight for a car at this price point. I know the Hyundai Sonata gets alot of high marks but I've rented this 5x now and it's a noisy rattle trap as far as I'm concerned.

Just to toss some info into the mix to help with differentiation on the list, here's a little help. I won't comment on the competition, since I can be a little biased as I am a manager for Ford corporate.

From the list you gave, the Fusion is the largest on the list, thus the slightly higher pricing. It's a midsize car, the rest were all compacts. So you'll see some extra features available on it, as well as more powerful engine choices. It also has the best infotainment system in the industry available on the SE and up - SYNC. Heather and I currently lease a pair of Mercury Milans, which are basically Fusions with a different skin and badging and couldn't be happier.

I saw RatFink had mentioned the Mazda 6. It's another platform-mate to the Fusion. The Mazdas tend to be marketed as sportier (Zoom-Zoom!) but mechanically are very similar. But no SYNC option, which I do consider to be a negative.