How Long Have You Been Playing Without Making a Hole In One

Bernoulli

Team Hackers 4Life
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
A recent thread (again congrats to Space Bandido) about a lucky THPer making his first hole in one has me thinking about those of us who have not been so lucky to even be able to write a "1" down on the scorecard. I got me thinking about how long some of us have been playing this game without making a hole in one. I'll start with the fact that I have been playing golf since 1972 and I have yet to make a hole in one. 48 years and counting. And every time before I play a round, I say to myself of the following:

"May the good lord grant that before my golfing days are done
That I just once score a legitimate hole in one."

Sadly, the good lord has not answered my prayer.

Almost 35 years with no HIOs here.

Never gotten one. Played a bit as a kid. Picked up golf at 22 and played through my 20s. Quit for most of my 30s. Back a year and still never gotten one.

Nearly a quarter century

I am at 20 years since I started playing but if you take the time out I was not playing it would about 10.

36 years

Started playing in 1991, so 29 years this summer with no HIO.

I've had the opportunity to write a '1' on a scorecard before, but it wasn't my own :(

Never. Not once. Damn close, but no.

My prediction? I'm going goose for life.

I've had the opportunity to write a '1' on a scorecard before, but it wasn't my own :(

Never. Not once. Damn close, but no.

My prediction? I'm going goose for life.

I have only witnessed one in all my years.

27 years, thanks for reminding me. I really appreciate it.

In my 6th season. No HIO. I did do some golf things for a couple of years as a kid in the 1970s. That time was not focused and playing was intermittent. I don't tend to count it. But I did play some and theoretically have a shot at a HIO. So 8-9 years total I suppose. One of these days ... I hope.