Little league Coaching

Scrap22

Grandaddy 2022!!!
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
I have been an assistant little league coach for the past five years. I played ball into college but have acccpted the role of manager this year. Quite scary actually because of my work schedule. However, I will do whatever my son's league needs. Any tips or advice iwould be much apprecaited .

Specifically looking for drills, input in any way.

thanks in advance!

Last edited:
What age?

The fact that you played at a higher level should really help. I think the biggest thing isn't so much wondering about drills, but working on fundamentals and running a well-organized practice. Too many coaches are throwing BP to one kid at a time while the rest shag balls or hitting pop flies/grounders to one kid at a time. Get some help, break into groups, and find a way to keep the kids engaged at all times. Make sure they all get meaningful reps with the bat, glove, and (if they pitch) throwing live pitches each practice.

I never coached baseball (or played for that matter) but I did coach youth basketball and helped coach soccer a few times. I agree with @Hawk fundamentals are the most important thing. I wasn’t really concerned with winning, but making sure everyone was learning skills they would need if they wanted to keep playing the sport. You should know way more of that stuff than the average little league coach. Keep it fun and light as well. Also during games again winning isn’t ans important so make sure everyone gets playing time and even the best players learn how to sit the bench without whining. They won’t always be the best and growth spurts can often turn a kid who doesn’t look very promising into a star.