MaryC

Lady of Leisure
Reaction score
Handicap
Back9 Beer
So, I've been turned onto port recently. I was given a 10yr old several years ago (5 or so, don't remember what brand but was told it was a "good" one). I've been storing it in my wine cabinet with the other reds but want to know if I've ruined it or if it should be OK when I get home and open it up.

Thanks.

mmm, port. I dont see why it wouldn't be any good. It's red wine with some brandy added... Probably would keep longer. I'm no expert, I just saw "port" in the title and got excited!

I have always kept ports with my other reds. Same temp and lying down on its side. Due to its sediment (in many cases), try not to rotate it or move it much.

You'll know for sure when it does get opened.Hope it is.

OK, I opened the port last night and it was just fine! Now that it is open, I have it in the coolest part of my red wine storage. It is a 10yr old Smith Woodhouse or rather when it was purchased, it was a 10yr old. I've had the bottle since 2004, so it is now a 16yr old Tawny and has some fantastic caramel flavors. I had it with a nice cigar last night after coming off the golf course but I think I'm going to try it with some 70% dark chocolate later this week (have to bake a chocolate genoise cake with ganache frosting, always use 70% for the frosting). I somehow think it will pair spectacular with the chocolate.