"Re-shaft" Charges

ButterPutter

Reaction score
Handicap
Hipsters
I went to Golfsmith today and bought a new driver shaft and had the shop remove and install a Taylormade adapter from an older shaft along with throwing on my normal grip. When I went to go pay the shop had added a re-shaft charge to my bill for $18.99. I've never been charged that fee in the past (have done the exact same thing several times) so I asked about it and the cashier said I should have been charged previously.

Am I crazy or is $18.99 too much to charge for installing a grip cutting the shaft and installing an adapter? I paid it as I don't have another option since my regular repair shop just closed down. It just seems a lot for a 5 minute service. Sorry to complain if this is normal.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

"Re-shaft" Charges

"Re-shaft" Charges

It's actually a pretty standard charge. I'm a club builder and used to work for a pretty big shop in my area. We charged $20 labor for a reshafting and $2.99 for installing grips. The $20 was broken up into $5 for pulling and $15 for attaching.

I understand the sentiment of this just being a "5 minute" service, but you're not actually paying for the time it takes. You have to remember this is a service that takes skill (to be done correctly) and it takes material. That simple job still requires special tools as well which aren't cheap. Think of it more as paying for the propane that it took to heat and pull the adapter, the epoxy it took to glue it on the new shaft, as well as the solvent and tape that it took to install your grip. Hopefully that gives you some insight.

Where I work, it would've been charged as a 3 separate things:

1) Shaft cut down $5.99
2) Adaptor install $5.99
3) Grip install $2.99

Total: $14.97

Others might charge for ferrule install as well but a lot of adaptors don't need it.

We charge 16.99 for shaft install plus other things like grip and ferrule.