Share your Morgan Cup Memory

Space Bandito

Baguette
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
2 Children
With the captain thread popping up, and @jdtox, @JB and @Canadan talking about how special the event really is, I thought it would be fun to share the memory that makes the MC special to you. You don't need to have played in the even to participate here, I think if you've been around more than a few months, surely there's something that stands out in your mind.

I'll lead it off.

First, let me start by saying the Morgan Cup is the reason I am here. When I joined THP I was simply looking for some advice on how to play this silly game. I was a beginner in every sense of the word. I signed up, asked a few questions, made a few boneheaded statements and that was it. I had no real intention of being part of this forum, and I knew nothing of the community behind it. Then I stumbled upon the Morgan Cup thread. I remember reading through the pages and thinking "this is for me." The whole idea of playing in an event where team mattered more than how well you played, then on top of that having a sponsor that treated you like you mattered was the icing on the cake.

Now, back then, part of being selected was based upon a criteria of participation in the forum. I was new, so I wasn't exactly in the running. It was then where I decided that if THP has events like this, perhaps it's worth sticking around to see what it's all about. I didn't get off to the greatest start, but I came around after a while. The Morgan Cup had been retired, and I had forgotten about it a bit.

Then in 2016 it was announced that the MC would be returning. Having remembered what hooked me on this community in the first place, I was so excited. New criteria for selection, and having established myself here, I had to throw my hat in the ring. Come sign up day in 2017 my heart raced as I filled out the email to submit. Sadly, I was not selected. Oh well, It's not the end of the world.