TaylorMade Tour Preferred MB Review Thread

I started taking interest in golf way back in 2000, took lesson to get the basics right. Took 2 years to break 100, accomplished this when I learned how to use the Driver. It took another 4 years before I broke 90 and I usually do this courtesy of good chipping and putting. I am a decent driver but I was never a good iron player, I would probably hit one good iron shot in a game and this is where my game got stuck. I have taken lessons, change equipment and custom fit my irons nothing helps. Obviously never even consider blades as the best I can do is a 5i cavity back on a regular graphite shaft.

I would not know the difference between good and bad iron swing as all of them feels the same to me. Then I played with a friend of mine who 5 years ago I have to wait for him for about 5 mins to reach my driving distance. This time he was the one waiting for me. He felt so sad to see the state of my iron play that after a third hole he never use his driver for me to catch up with his distance. Officially I hold an 18 handicap but now I can barely break 100.

In the quest to improve, I decided to try players irons, my head keep telling me “it’s not the clubs but your swing, you can’t even hit cavity back properly and you want to try blades? Have you gone mad?”, my heart is telling me “how can you improve if you your clubs are not telling you what wrong with your swing?”

Heart prevailed, got the taylormade tour prepared MB, TT S300. Wife complains she is also a golfer “what the @#$% is wrong with you, you think a small clubhead and a stiff shaft is going to save you some strokes? Did you even bother checking your swing speed before you got those stiff shafted clubs?”