At the Driving Range: Mats or Grass?

For practicing with the big stick I think it's fine. Anything other than that and I don't like it. Hurts my hands as I'm a bit of a digger so I tend to hit down on the ground hard. If the club can't take a divot then the force goes back up through my hands and ends up hurting them after a few shots.

I tend to have a steeper swing so mats don't do my wrists any favors. At my local range they have both indoor and outdoor ranges so I use the outdoor as much as possible but when the weather is bad they close the outdoor range. When that happen i just use the indoor the work on driver, woods from tee and irons from tees.

I was a beginner once and I learned hitting off mats, and I've practiced almost exclusively on mats since. Been playing for 15 years off and on. I also hit down and through the ball and I know what it feels like to strike a ball well. Sure I'm no scratch golfer but sometimes I break 80 but mostly shoot mid 80s. I only play about 3-4 times a month and practice even less. I dont think the fact that I'm not a scratch golfer is because I learned to play hitting on a mats. Just sayin.

I don't like practicing off mats. Thankfully the closest range to me uses grass year round. I practiced off mats for a while and felt like my ball striking was worse because of it.

I'm not a fan of mats and I don't ever practice off of them. I like to practice the same shots I'm going to hit on the course and I have yet to see a course covered with that fake grass, so I don't do mats.

I prefer hitting off of grass but mats are fine if thats my only option.