Why are irons getting stronger lofts?

Renren89

Reaction score
Handicap
So I was looking at the specs for the wilson di11's as I'm really thinking about them and I looked at the specs and everything is basically a full club stronger loft than my current rac os clubs which means that I'd probably be looking at getting another wedge if I do go for the clubs.

Anyone able to explain to me why manufacturers do this? Is it simply a case of trying to trick consumers into thinking they're hitting clubs longer when really they hit them the same distance but they're just labelled different?

I am not an expert by any means, but with higher launch shafts, the lofts can be lower to get the same effect.

I am not an expert by any means, but with higher launch shafts, the lofts can be lower to get the same effect.

That would be true if all shafts were high launching, but, when half or maybe less than half aren't HL, I can't see that being the reason why.

I don’t actually know why myself though. I know some people prefer the confidence of looking down at the ball knowing they have a 6i in hand where it would normally be a 5i. Or, it could be that one company started jacking up lofts and using that to say they have a longer iron than everyone else and then everyone else done the same. As Smalls said, I’m no expert either. LOL.

It's most definitely a marketing ploy on Wilson Staff's part to sell them as "seriously" long clubs. Taylormade does it too on a couple of their distance sets. Google "loft creep". I think there are some articles out there on it, as well as some (conspiracy) theories on why they do it. I think it's just plain and simple trying to appeal to joe six-pack who needs the ego-boost of hitting a 9 iron when his buddies are hitting 8's. He doesn't know or care that it's really an 8 iron with the number changed.