Lightweight driver

Dan637

Reaction score
Handicap
20+
I've been using a Nike Sasquatch Sumo Square driver for about 6 years now and am looking for something new. I'm considering one of the new lightweight drivers as I'm losing distance with age. The reviews look good on these clubs, I've read few bad, mostly loss of direction. Is there any one of them that is better? I tend to rely on reviews, being left handed and living in northern N.Y. makes it hard to find clubs to demo. I'm 47 yeas old with a driver swing speed in the low 90's. I've never had a directional problem with the driver, but I've noticed a loss of distance and am hoping to regain at least some. I've read reviews on lighter weight and longer shafted Cleveland drivers with the Miyazaki shaft and think they may be the best. The CG Black was at the top of my list until I saw the price tag. Right now I find on ebay good prices on the XL series. Is the CG Black so much technologically better than the XL that I should wait another year for the price to drop before purchasing or would ther be no difference in purchasing the XL now? Is there another driver better, TM Burner or Burner 2.0, Adams UL 9088. Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks.

Hi there,
If you like the Cleveland I MUST recommend last year's Cleveland launcher series to you. They are terrific clubs, and if you order one preowned on global golf, enter the code LEFT25 and you'll get 25% off a preowned club.
It's funny because I was thinking the Cleveland right from your first sentence, then you asked about it in your post. For the money, you can't beat it. It's a great club but the demand isn't there. The Nike stuff sells the same way: cheap. 99% of the time I get clubs that I've hit that don't have great demand, but play terrific. The Cleveland lineup from last year is a winner! I'd recommend to you either the 270 or the 290 with a stiff shaft.