do I really nead the low lofts of the new irons of today?

rollin

"Just playin golf pally"
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
Sory up front for the long post.
I am looking into new clubs and recently had 1st ever club fitting. Before my question about newer irons I'd like to tell a bit about my golfing so you better to understand my point of view and or better know how to answer, comment or advise about what it is i ask.

5 or 6 years ago playing bit more often i started shooting mid 80's. 85 to be exact on 2 ocassions. If not in the upper 80's then would hang around the 90 mark. All in all game was improving but then couldn't get out there much since and here I am back mostly in the mid/upper90's again. This year however I've been able to get out a bit more and have two 90's and some low 90's. Of course hoping to improve back into the 80's again

My problem is not legnth, I'm a fairly long hitter. 8 iron @ 150, Can drive 270 to 280 with the ocassional 300yarder when given perfect favorable conditions and I can strike balls decently. My biggest problem is incosistancy due to not enough golf and/or practice which will develope muscle memory over repititions only. I usually know what I did wrong when hitting poorly. And it will usually be things like " I picked up my head and walked out on that" or "darn, i didn't roll my hands over on that one" or maybe "I hit down too early on that one" etc... you all get the point.