Anybody tried to completely overhaul their swing after many years of playing?

bhilton

Reaction score
Handicap
I have had a pretty bad looking swing since I started playing golf about 12 or 13 years ago. I made it work for many years and actually played pretty well with it. This past year, it seemed to just stop working for me. The swing was all about timing and if my timing was off by just a fraction, I couldn't do anything with the golf ball. I finally gave in this year and started getting lessons from our pro and he has completely changed everything from my grip to my stance to how far I stand from the ball and where the ball is placed in my stance.

I had my third lesson with him today. I could see progress after the first two lessons, but I was still having a few problems. After today's lesson, I finally see it all coming together. I thought just learning the game was hard, but after having the same swing for 12 or 13 years and all of a sudden change the whole thing, I can say this is much harder than just learning the game. Trying to get my body to do things completely different than how I've done them for years is a heck of a challenge.

I played golf this morning and then had the lesson. As soon as the lesson was over I hit balls for about another 2 - 2.5 hours. My body is is pain right now. I've never hit that many balls in one day. I'm hoping to go out tomorrow afternoon and hit about another 2-3 hours of balls. I'm hoping if I can keep this practice routine going for a few weeks it won't take me long to get this swing down and it will come 'natural' to me. We'll see how it goes.

Good luck! I've never completely overhauled, but more corrected a few fundamental flaws that I'd been doing for years. It took a while to groove those corrections and they felt awkward at first, but ended up being great in the long term. I imagine with your handicap you have the ability to overhaul, so I'm sure it'll turn out great.