1. Do you think you are a good (forget about distance in this case) driver of the ball?

No, I would not consider myself a great driver by the ball, just by the sole fact that I consider myself pretty decent at getting myself out of trouble. When you have practice at getting out of trouble, that is usually not a good sign.

2. Do those numbers (in the 1st paragraph) hold true for you?

I would say those numbers hold true to me. I can usually go back over my round, look at a couple of holes and start with "If I had driven the ball better on this hole or that hole". Frustrates the heck out of me.

1) No.

2) Absolutely.

When I can put it in play off the tee, I really believe I can put up a number. But, when standing on the tee, I'm as far from confident as possible.

1. Do you think you are a good (forget about distance in this case) driver of the ball?

For the most part, yes I am a pretty good driver of the ball if we throw out the distance equation. According to Golfshot, in the last 20 rounds I am a little better than 65% on FIR.

Yes, they do very much....I can't tell you how many really good rounds I have ruined by those 1-3 swings with the driver....right now...if I hit 8/13 fairways....3 of those misses will be just off the fairway in the rough...the other 2...will be hooked off the planet either OOB or into a water hazard. Those are the ones I need to work on controlling.

Driving The Ball

Wow! I would say everyone here so far is an extremely good driver of the ball. The top driver of the ball on the PGA tour this year cord accuracy is sitting on 72.63%. There are some very good players hovering around the 50% mark.
Oddly, I do consider myself quite a good driver, despite having by far the worst stats in this thread so far. According to my stats on shot zoom I hit just 41% of my fairways. If I include the drives that end up in the short rough, that number would be considerably higher.

I think I might hit an average of 2-4 fairways a month.