Why Don't You Take Lessons?

For me it was a bad experience with the instructor. Two years ago I took a series of lessons for a PGA pro, each lessons he watched me hit shots and gave me pointers but never gave me anything thing to work on between lessons. After spending $500 with this guy it makes me reluctant to spend money on lessons.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk

So for a total newbie like me, who just started playing golf, has a horrible handicap, and doesn't know much about the intricacies of the game ... what is a good initial valid specific goal?

Honestly, I need so much work in so many areas that I'm not sure that if the pro asked me what I wanted to work on first ... what I should tell him, other than I need to know if my mechanics are good.

Tell him what your miss is. The miss that is killing you. The one that is causing the biggest issues. Where are you losing strokes? Off the tee, around the green, putting? You know your game, your pro really doesn't.

Where are you losing strokes? Off the tee, around the green, putting?
Yes.

I am a 36 handicap for a reason. :crying:

I suppose if you asked me where I wanted the most improvement, it'd be my short game ... since my wedge scares the living crud out of me.

So for a total newbie like me, who just started playing golf, has a horrible handicap, and doesn't know much about the intricacies of the game ... what is a good initial valid specific goal?

Honestly, I need so much work in so many areas that I'm not sure that if the pro asked me what I wanted to work on first ... what I should tell him, other than I need to know if my mechanics are good.