Teaching the game to a youngster

DocTrussell

Reaction score
Handicap
~24
Mods: if this is not in the right area please move.

Like the title implies, I am wondering the best way to properly teach a kid (my 7 years old son) the game. My concern is that I don't want him to struggle with a poor self taught swing (or non taught) down the road. I have actually never had a lesson (plan on that changing this year) and have recently been trying to change 20+ years of ingrained bad habits from no instruction at all (I have only recently started learning to proper address position).

I know the proper answer for this would be to find somebody who gives lessons to kids. That at this time is not a viable option from both a financial and logistic standpoint, same reasons I have yet to start a lesson plan with a coach.

I recently picked up the PGA tour academy home edition from the marketplace (thanks manny) and have stated the program myself. It seems, so far at least, that it is easy enough to understand (application is a different story from the years of bad habits) that anyone could follow along and at least learn most of the principles of the game.

That is just a little background to the actual question, with me being able to understand and help my son with the application of the program, is this a viable option to get him started in the right direction for the game? We started a couple of nights ago and just went through the grip session and with my help he seemed to be getting and understanding the proper grip. Stopped at that part because a kids attention span is short.

What do you guys think?

I'm currently reading "Daddy Caddy, On the Bag" and it is along these lines as I've got the same question as you. So far it has been a good read and might be worth recommending.

I'm curious to hear what others have to say on this topic.