Wedge grind, what is your kind?

Castor Hades

Reaction score
Handicap
6.7 EGA
I just realized that I have very little knowledge or experience about different grinds.

At the moment I use Cobra Trusty Rusty, which have a Tri-Bounce sole, and I do know what it means, but at the same time I don't know if I know how to utilize it.

I also sometimes use my Cleveland 588 wedges, and I have no clue about their grind.

I know I can read all about grinds on OEM websites, but do amateurs really benefit from different grinds, or is it just a gimmick? I know pros can benefit from the tiniest things, but they usually know what they are doing. My wedge use is mostly based on emotion and luck.

What kind of grinds do you prefer and why?

right now I have ATV wedges so it's a specialty grind from TM. I have some wedges that have a C grind to them that I liked quite a bit. I also have those Trusty Rusty's you speak of. Not sure I really utilized them well. Really I have no preference because I have not fooled around with all the options out there.

Probably the most versatile I've found is the heel grind. Adding some relief on the toe in conjunction with that is even better. That's one that I use at different lofts and for all kinds of shots. Makes it very easy to open the face.

Cresent/channel is another great one. Reduces bounce on square face shots, but increases it when you open the face. Best of both worlds in that you can use it effectively chipping/pitching from tighter lies, but still have a good bouncy option for the sand or deeper rough. U grind is sort of in this category as well.

Great topic Castor...this is definitely an area that I lack knowledge. I will be frequenting this thread often.

I think I'm a fan of the C grind. It usually gives me the heel relief I like so I can open it up as much as I want without worrying about the leading edge too much. It's pretty nice out of the sand as well