My #JourneytoBetter...Nothing like Hawk's

adamw238

Reaction score
Handicap
I was inspired by Hawk's video yesterday and decided to start documenting my #journeytobetter. I didn't want to do the same thing as Hawk because frankly, any attempt by me to do anything remotely as amazing as that would be an insult that masterpiece. So, I'm taking a different approach and will let everyone join in my daily effort to become the best golfer I can.

A little background:
My #jouirneytobetter started well before I was an active THPer. I have been golfing for 24 years and love the game. For the last 2 years I have been trying to develop a golf swing that creates desirable results. A swing I could control....something that was mine. This all came about after a second back surgery that resulted in the fusion of L4-L5 and L5-S1. A lot of things happened after that surgery. I lost a lot of articulation in my back and hips. I was now and inch and a half taller. Most of all, my body could not tolerate the swing I had. There was a lot of coiling and unloading that wasn't possible because of the hardware in my back. I played one round after my surgery and it was like I had never swung a club.

A full fall, winter, and spring of rehab had me back in shape and the summer of 2012 I started taking lessons for the first time in 20 years. That year I went from an 18 down to a 12.4. It wasn't pretty, but I was able to knock it around and minimize my misses. The winter of 2012-2013 I decided I would continue my work and play simulator golf. I took lessons here and there, but nothing consistent. What happened was the worst possible thing. My swing went from something passable to a sin against mankind. My backswing was flatter than Kuchar's and my release started at my armpits. I had a 5 way miss; fat, thin, left, right and a shank. Things were bleak...