Tired of sucking at golf....

Trevor68

Reaction score
Handicap
Let me give you a little background...I have been playing for about 4 years and I love this sport. I play twice a week, watch the golf channel all the time, read magazines, try every tip I see or read. I am a 16 handicap, my best score ever is a 79 and my usual score is 89-90. I have taken some lessons with different instructors and each one sees a different flaw in my swing. I have had a very hard time making swing changes. For example, one instructor told me that my grip was too weak and that I had to make it stronger, he also told me that I had to be patient with the swing change because it would take time. as a result, I started hooking the ball bard and low. Whenever I would go to a course, I would shoot about 120 because I would loose the ball on every tee shot. Playing partners would look at me as if I was insane because I would stay disciplined hooking the ball non stop. I gave up after 3 months and reverted....Another instructor told me I wasn't shifting my weight enough, so I started shifting enough, the problem was that I started having a huge slice because I could not time it correctly. After a couple of months I reverted to what felt logical in my mind.
Meanwhile I have played tournaments and I have won a few of them (if you can believe after what you have read) (won my division, not the entire tournament). in addition, I have sucked in many of them.
I am 32 years old, swing speed of 95. Poor driver, decent iron player, average wedge player, decent putter. Top of the line equipment.
I don't have any issues in terms of wanting to practice, but I simply have not found a method that has solved my shortcomings. It is hard to believe that I have actually won a few trophies and shot some low rounds, yet I cannot tell you what a good swing feels like.
I don't understand how I can love a sport so much yet know so little on how to play it correctly....