Thinking about giving it up

willybilly

Reaction score
Handicap
I've been golfing for four years and in that time I've made huge strides. I've reached my goal of not being a total embarrassment on the course. I've dedicated three days a week to my local nine hole course. I've invested in lessons and countless dollars in equipment.

I'm just not feeling it this year. It's been a long winter and spring has been incredibly wet. The weather has been a total downer. Due to the reasons stated, I've lost a lot of motivation to play.

Another thing is, I took up the game at 36 years old. So I'm a late starter. Is it really worth putting the time and effort in to play when I'm so far past my prime at 40. How many good years do I really have left anyway?

I'm seriously at a crossroads. I love golf. It's my passion. The Golf Channel never is off on my tv. But recently, I've found myself not caring as much and watching golf way less frequently. So I don't know what to do.

Has anybody else ever faced this sort of thing? Is it a phase? Is there a way to re devote oneself?

Full disclosure: raining cats and dogs here and I'm not going to be able to play again today.

Sorry for my ramble. Been off my Paxil too long:)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Im 36 and playing better and hitting the ball farther then I did in my 20's. If at 40 you think your past your prime I say you are wrong.

I took up golf at 28, gave it up after 2 years because I didn't have the time to dedicate to it. Took it up again 2 years ago and couldn't be happier. Set realistic expectations, and have fun. Take a break if you're not feeling it, but don't close to door....you never know.

I've been going through the same thing for awhile now, and I really don't mind it. I use to play turneys for awile but I realised it's not for me. Now I golf when I want to, and I have more fun.