Playing COTS Stock Equipment

Stribs

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Just a quick story.

I have been playing this game for just over 10 years and have always play stock equipment, standard L/L/L, stock shafts, no adjustments period. After seeing all the MC equipment order forms and the amount of upgrades per club that everyone is ordering, I am really beginning to think that I should invest the time/money to get a proper fitting. I've always just been a feel type of player and never bothered with investing the enormous amount of money to custom order equipment. I'm basically a COTS kind of guy and I truly believe this is now starting to affect my game. I could not believe the amount of customization people had in their entire bag at the THP Bstone Indy event this past weekend. Many of the guys are playing $300+ shafts in each of their 3-5 wood set-up and here I am with my off-the-shelf Ping i20 driver with it's stock shaft LOL.

Do you think I'm truly missing out with my COTS gear, or am I fine with what I have?

Probably fine with what you have. $300 shafts are certainly not needed to play good golf. Might be worth checking lie angles or seeing if you can optimize your setup though. Certainly doesn't have to be an expensive thing unless you make it that way.

Just a quick story.