New "ish" golfer from Waterford, MI

Nakrohtap

Reaction score
Handicap
Hi Everyone. I have been lurking around this forum for a few weeks now. I happened upon it accidentally when searching for reviews for some balls and a fairway wood. There seems to be a HUGE gathering on here.

Anyways, my name is Pat. I am 45. I golfed very sparingly back when I was a teenager. Didn't have any clue to what I was doing. Just kind of hacking around the course like most teenagers that weren't serious about golfing. After not playing for nearly 20 years, I started playing again (sparingly still) around 8 years ago. I had a set of $150 all inclusive clubs from Walmart as a starter set for years and then decided to get a set of Taylor Made Burner plus irons this spring to help promote my game. In the past 8 years, I have only averages around 4-5 rounds a summer. Last year, I probably golfed maybe 6 times. I counting this as my official rookie season. ;) This year, I have already went to the course at least 6 times and plan to play around a round a week (weather permitting) through September.
I realize that this amount of time is not enough to be consistent, which is why I am trying to go at least once a week now. I am not trying to get outstanding at golf, just good enough to be consistent and know what I am doing in the different phases of the game.
To give you an idea of where I am, I shot a high of 119 and a low of 105 so far this season, averaging about a 112. My short term goal is to break 100. I don't have a ton of people that I golf with, which is sometimes the reason I don't get out every week.
I am open to all suggestions and criticism. I am trying to just get out and enjoy the weather and have fun, but still get irritated at bad shots.

Sorry for the long-winded post.