The Course Management Thread

I learned to play to a certain number on many holes, not just bomb away. It takes two for me to get to many par 4 greens and three often into par 5's, so I'm very much aware of where I want my layups to be.

I've started concentrating on minimizing the effect of misses, especially on approaches. For example, my miss is left. Sometimes only a slight pull; other times a giant hook. Before this year, I would just go at flags based on distance and direction. 145 yds? Grab the 9 and let's go. Now, I try to analyze where the danger areas are, taking my likely miss into account. Maybe that means clubbing up or down, or changing my aim points.

It is quite liberating to play "smart." An example from this morning: approach shot required a significant fade to get around an overhanging tree branch. Initially, I grabbed the club for that distance and was about to hit. Then I remembered that 7 times out of 10, my "fade" goes dead straight (I'm not very good at fades, obviously). If I hit the club I initially grabbed, and it went straight, I end up on the next tee. So I clubbed down, faded it dead straight (shock), landed short of the green - and danger - with only a simple pitch to the green.

For me, rarely do I make a big number by hitting into the fairway, then chunking an iron from the fairway, then chunking another iron from the fairway, then chunking a pitch from a great angle, then 3-putting.

That is to say, the game is SO much easier from the short grass. Big numbers for me almost always come from putting myself into bad spots where I don't have the skill to rescue myself. Course management is what keeps the shot that was "almost hit well" landing in a good spot rather than a bad one. If I don't manage the course well and constantly put myself into positions that require a high degree of skill, I'm depending solely on luck to bail me out, and that rarely goes well.