Favorite Set Of Irons Ever - And Why You Changed

I guess mine would be the Golfsmith's tour model IVs I built back around late 80s. I bought the heads, TTLite shafts & some Taci Mac grips. The shafts were the type that you trim for stiffness then for length.
I thought I needed new clubs cause well the grooves were pretty well worn & after a 7 yr lay off I deserved new ones. Like to add that since I started playing again I've been through several different irons, some cause of searching & other part is caught in the hype

I guess mine would be the Golfsmith's tour model IVs I built back around late 80s. I bought the heads, TTLite shafts & some Taci Mac grips. The shafts were the type that you trim for stiffness then for length.
I thought I needed new clubs cause well the grooves were pretty well worn & after a 7 yr lay off I deserved new ones. Like to add that since I started playing again I've been through several different irons, some cause of searching & other part is caught in the hype

Dang brother you came from the old school where you built your own shat and stuff. The cool thing is saying the ones you built were your all time favorites. I like that :thumb:

As before: its not the age but high miles & lack of maintenance.

Favorite set and current gamers are my Cobra Amp Cell Pros. They are just such a good looking iron IMO and offer more forgiveness than just a straight MB.

After my new babies got delivered today, we'll see if they can knock the ACP's out of the bag.

They wouldn't compare to today's equipment, but I think the irons that I enjoyed the most playing were the Taylor Made LCG irons from the late 90s. That's what I used throughout my High School golf days and hit some of my best shots with them. I actually gamed them until about 2006 where I swapped them for Nike Slingshots because I bought into the "new technology" hype at that time. I wish I never did that.