White Rhino

SANDBAGGER!!!!!!!
Reaction score
Ok fine people from THP I need your help and advice. I have had a feeling for some time that I am standing too far away from the ball for most shots and this was confirmed today when I was talking to my buddies that I played with this past weekend. I have tried on a few occasions to step closer but it does not feel "right". How do I fix this? What is the "right" distance to be away from the ball at set-up? I know everyone has diferent swings and set-ups but any advice would be apprecited.

For me it's a matter of centering the club face on the ball with my hands hanging comfortable, yet extended. Unless I want to fade the ball, I don't use any wrists, so I want and extended reach with rather stiff arms. Although the driver is not my best club, haha

I'm by no means a pro, but I've had this issue as well....mainly because I don't get out nearly as much as I used to, so I struggle to find that "comfort" zone.

So, sometimes I get a little far from the ball and start to reach too much. I can usually feel when I'm reaching, but sometimes it's hard,mentally, to make the adjustment.

What I've done is: take your normal stance (where you think you're too far from the ball), move your body 2 or 3 inches closer to the ball (feet and all) so that the ball is on the heel of your driver, then straighten your back and stand more upright so the ball winds up in the middle of the clubface. In theory, what this does is get your feet closer to the ball, makes your body more upright, and get your arms in the proper position so they are hanging vertically.