Blades Vs Cavity Back

I just don't know how metal can deform and react in an unpredictable manner when the force producing that reaction is constant

Could the metal have inconsistencies when it's being formed? So if it's weaker or stronger due to too much heat or not enough heat, that would effect how it would react to being deformed? I would imagine if this is possible that it would be more pronounced the thinner the metal form was.

I ask genuinely as I'm not a metal expert.

Could the metal have inconsistencies when it's being formed? So if it's weaker or stronger due to too much heat or not enough heat, that would effect how it would react to being deformed? I would imagine if this is possible that it would be more pronounced the thinner the metal form was.
Apparently yes, for both casting and forging techniques. You never get perfect metal, just like you never get perfect rubber. Clubs and balls are *always* imperfect.

I ask genuinely as I'm not a metal expert.
With modern casting and forging processes, I don't know how inconsistent the offerings are. Likewise, the location of any inconsistency wouldn't move. So the inconsistencies would be consistent.

With modern casting and forging processes, I don't know how inconsistent the offerings are. Likewise, the location of any inconsistency wouldn't move. So the inconsistencies would be consistent.

I guess I was thinking that if it's a weaker offering with a thinner metal form (thinner face), that the trampoline effect could be greater or less consistent due to the weaker metal. Maybe that's not the way it works though.

I guess I was thinking that if it's a weaker offering with a thinner metal form (thinner face), that the trampoline effect could be greater or less consistent due to the weaker metal. Maybe that's not the way it works though.
I think that's true if you move around the face--I'm pretty sure that's how you get "hot spots" on the club.