azfarrier

Average Hack
Reaction score
Handicap
Well a little over a year ago I started playing golf again after about a twenty year hiatus. I played occasionally during that twenty years. Maybe once a year or every other year. I had a buddy come visit last year that is an avid golfer and he insisted we play while he was down. The first day I took my old 25 year old clubs that I had bought used. All day long he was giving me crap about my antique clubs that needed to be in the Smithsonian. The second day I went to load my clubs and he started giving me a hard time and said I should rent some at the course just so I could see the improvements in technology over the last 30 years LOL. I agreed and was amazed. I enjoyed my round so much that the day after he left I went down and got fitted and ordered new clubs. Turns out I was fitted to 1.5" over and the clubs I had been using were 1" under. That couldn't have been helping me.

I played for about a year just trying to improve on my own and did to some degree. Where as before I was always happy if I broke 100 I had been able to get to where I consistently could score in the low 90's with an occasional round in the 80's. I finally decided to take some lessons because there were some aspects of my game I just couldn't figure out on my own or by looking at youtube videos. My game really started coming around and I set a goal for myself of breaking 80 by the end of July.

Sunday I played with a good friend and shot my best round, an 80. I was stoked but at the same time a little disappointed because I knew I had left a few strokes out there and could have reached my goal. Well I had today off so I went back out today early and shot a 79. I was stoked. It's summer in Arizona so no ones on the course and it only took two hours and fifteen minutes for my round so I decided to go around again. This round was a two over 73!!!