Tedfroop

One eyed and left handed
Reaction score
Handicap
RCGA 10.8
I am going to be having a playing lesson next week for the first time. I have never done one before and I want to get all the good I can out of it since my sweet wife shelled out for it for my birthday. I would appreciate to hear your experiences and all the things you did and wish you had done during your playing lesson.

What did you do?

Was playing well a priority?

What did you work on during your lesson?

What didn't you work on that you wish you had worked on?

I've had many playing lessons. Sometimes we went to the par 3 course and played and sometimes we played about 7-9 holes on the course. I learned a lot about playing different lies, hitting out of trouble, green reading, pre-shot routines, alignment, course management, etc. It just kind of happened as we went. My instructor usually played with me and we played match play. It was always fun.

I had one a few weeks ago. Played on a new to me course.

It was a little more informal than I expected it to be, but then again - I really had no clue what to expect. We talked about what to play off the tee, some course management, tips on what shot to play around the green, how to plan distance and club selection from different spots and lies on the course.

Playing well something I wanted. We did a little match play and I got waxed, but for a while I was in the lead (with strokes).

I'm not sure what I wish we'd worked on. You can't really teach the swing on the course imo, so you're sort of left to the other stuff. I did get some things out of it that I appreciated, but I'd rather just tee it up with him for fun next time. It sort of felt like we were doing that anyway.