What type of feel do you like with your putter?

MattyD-MPLS

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
My favorite feeling putter of all time is the Odyssey Sabertooth. It had a nice pop to it. If I were to design a putter, I would prefer a hotter feeling face compared to a dull thud.

What say you?

I'm a big fan of a softer feeling face like the White Hot on Odyssey putters. The feeling and sound of getting one right in the center, the ball sinks in to the face like butter and then pops off. Love that feeling!

My favorite feeling putter of all time is the Odyssey Sabertooth. It had a nice pop to it. If I were to design a putter, I would prefer a hotter feeling face compared to a dull thud.

What say you?
I've always really liked the white hot insert as it is soft yet I always had great distance control with it. Lately I like the slightly more firm feeling of the insert in the Cleveland Frontline Elevado putter.

I tried few putters with insert.
I started playing with Chrome Soft ball last year and I just couldn’t get used to the feeling at all. If I was playing more harder ball I might be ok with it.
Until I change ball I’m sticking with my old Cameron. So I guess I like tad clicky feel? If that make any sense.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Soft, but not too soft. Somewhere around the middle between clicky and mushy. The new Odyssey Microhinge Star insert feels pretty good to me and I've had good results with distance control with it. My old Ping Scottsdale had a firmer insert and I wasn't as consistent with my distances.

The only inserts I seem to get along with are metal. I did like the early Odyssey black inserts though, just never got along with the white-hot type material. Micro-hinge either, it robbed me of feel too.

I do like a crisp feel without it being too hard. The Never Compromise putters (I still have a Voodoo center-shaft) probably offer me the best mix of feel and pop.