Firefighters Held Hostage

ncrowe83

Reaction score
Handicap
Trees
http://www.foxnews.com/us/2013/04/10/5-firefighters-taken-hostage-in-georgia/

This is right across the street from the high school I graduated from, in the heart of the community i grew up in and 20 minutes from where I now proudly serve as a brother firefighter to this crew. This makes by blood boil and terrifies me at the same time. I have always feared something like this more than fighting fire. We have turnout-gear, extensive training and hose streams to protect us from fire. We have level-A suits to protect us from hazardous chemicals, we have PPE(personnel protective equipment) to shield us against blood-born pathogens. We have safeguards against everything we may face, except this. I can not speak for every department in the country but Gwinnett County, along with the county I work for has strict policies against carrying firearms. I have no intention of starting any kind of gun debate, I am simply venting about our complete vulnerability in an instance such as this. All this was over the suspect's home being foreclosed on and power cut-off. I can't even keep my thoughts together enough to continue with this right now. Three fingers of Jameson sounds good though...

This is crazy, sorry to hear the news. Hope all turns out well, my thoughts and prayers heading to the crew.

Hostage situations never get you anywhere. Handle it like a big boy instead of doing something violent, rash, and heartless.

THPing on Tapatalk

Glad they came out okay and glad SWAT took the gunman out.

This is very disturbing. You have to be pretty sick to target those whose sole purpose is to protect you in times of emergency. This is only about an hour from where I live and I am very upset. Our thoughts and prayers will be with the firefighters until they are released unharmed.

Wow, I am glad the Fire Fighters were not harmed.