When is a sand wedge not a sand wedge??

tdinbr

Water hazards are tough!
Reaction score
Handicap
Went and visited my Dad last week and got to play a couple of rounds with him and my uncle. Was telling my Dad how much I struggle with bunker shots and he takes a look at my sand wedge and tells me "That's not a sand wedge".
I have a TM XFt 58 degree with an 8 bounce that I "thought" was my sand wedge. However, according to Dad that's not near enough bounce, and its digging in on me. I also have a 54 degree with a 12 bounce, but hardly ever use it in the sand.
I tried his Rocketballz sand wedge and did have a much easier time getting out of the practice bunker we were using. Bounce on that thing was huge!
Not sure what to make of this so I thought I'd ask my fellow THP'ers....do I have a sand wedge or is is just a lob wedge??

58* is a lob wedge

There is no such thing as a "sand wedge" you can use whatever you would like to get out of the sand. I don't have a lot of bounce on my 58 and I get out nice and soft most of the time. It's technique that gets you out not just the bounce of the club. The bounce helps but not necessary.

I think most companies market the sand wedge, lob wedge, and gap wedge as such for that reason, marketing. Use what you are comfortable with and what gets you out if the bunkers. Don't worry about labels and titles, they are simply that.

Loft has nothing to do with it for me. I play my 54* out of bunkers with lower lips. I play my 60* out of bunkers with high lips. Bounce also has nothing to do with it. Some people believe that different kinds of sand require different bounces. The combination of technique and equipment is causing your problem. Not name of your wedge.

I could care less about the name on the club, and I know its mostly my technique because he helped me alot on that. Just thought it may also have something to do with the small bounce on the club.