Hello from Seattle/Tacoma/Puget Sound - New, on many levels.

malemotives

Reaction score
Handicap
GHIN 17.4
Actually, I live in Puyallup, which is a countrified suburb of the area... a stones throw from the Sound; 10 minutes from Chambers Bay and 30 minutes from The Home Course.

Real name is Dave. I'm not only new to THP, I'm new to golf..... since March 2013. But it's a ride I am really enjoying, at this stage of my life. My only regret is that I didn't discover golf much sooner. It's kind of hard to phantom that I lived in Florida for 32 years and never played golf.

In any event, I now spend my spring and summers in Washington. I play golf at many area courses... a few well know, as mentioned above. I'm a member of American Lakes Veterans Golf Course, which is located on the campus of the Tacoma area Veterans Administration. It is currently a 9 hole double tee for 18 course, which will soon be 18 full holes. Our benefactor.... Jack Nicklaus, was here last week for the ribbon cutting on the Jack Nicklaus Nine. The entire course is a Jack Nicklaus design, donated by Mr. Nicklaus. Our course, for veterans and guests, if probably one of the best golfing experiences and deals to be found, anywhere. $150 a year Membership gets a veteran unlimited golf, 7 days a week. Non-member vets pay only $12 for 18 holes; guest pay $20. Our $40/yr golf club includes GHIN handicap and a host of tournaments throughout the year.

As a retired marine, I am totally absorbed by this game.

Not being real keen on cold winters, I leave Washington in November, for Mesa Arizona... where I first took up golf, last March. The area has tons of courses, with a variety of rates, that competition is keeping affordable. My Home course there is Toka Stix, but I play 4/5 different courses, including Arizona Golf Resort, Painted Mountain and Longbow.