What's your bad shot that turned out being great?

tpluff

I <3 GAWLF
Reaction score
Handicap
Winter
Let's be honest, we hit a lot of bad shots. Typically these bad shots give us a less than desirable result. The beauty of golf, however, is that once in a while the golf gods are on our side and give us a break when we need it. Tell your story of a time where you didn't execute the shot you were trying to, but the result ended up just as good, if not better, than you were originally trying to achieve.

My story: 215 yard par 3. Hit a 4 iron and thinned it something terrible with a horrible swing. It probably traveled 40 yards in the air, but the hole was slightly downhill and clear of hazard all the way to the green. Ball rolled the length of the fairway and onto the green, ending up about 8 feet from the pin for a birdie chance that I didn't deserve.

175 yard SEVERE downhill par 3 at my league course. I've been playing there for 10 years and have hit everything from AW to 8i from the two sets of tees. One night I pushed my tee shot short and right, which came down in the fescue, hit a rock, and bounced forward and left onto the green. I'm 1-1 finding a GIR that way, and 8-367 finding a GIR the normal way.

During our Ultimate Testing weekend at Championsgate. My tee shot on the 9th hole was pushed right...way right onto the entrance road. And it bounced down the road like a pin-ball between the two curbs before coming to rest in the rough about pin high....375 yards from the tee box.

Wow Pete, guess it's some of that luck of the Irish!

Wow Pete, guess it's some of that luck of the Irish!
I'll take all the luck I can get it. This game is hard enough.

I actually feel like I have at least one of these around where you hit a shot, it feels bad, it looks bad and then all of the sudden it works out!