Reaction score
It’s been over a year now since I posted about what Covid did to golf in the greater Phoenix valley. I’ve been playing golf since I was 10 years old. I’m now 35.

Golf has become prohibitively expensive. My local club has tripled in price over the last two years, both courses. Dog tracks have doubled. City courses are impossible to get tee times. You have to book 2 weeks in advance. Pace of play is near 5 hours, sometimes more. Still the same guys in joggers hitting 3 off the first tee claiming they shot a 74.

Equipment has increased at least 50%. Speccing a driver with a shaft that actually fits costs over a grand. I’m not sure how new golfers can even afford to play at this point? Definitely can’t figure out how all these people seem to be affording $200 to $300 rounds of golf every weekend. I make damn good money, but this has just gone too far. Not to mention $20+ for a bucket of range balls.

Once an every weekend affair has now become an every now and again splurge. I’m just not going to pay these prices. It’s literal insanity. Golf will always be around, but I’m not keeping a GHIN, and it will more than likely just be a recreational outing moving forward. Probably what it should have been all along.

Good luck.

Everyone seems to be quitting the game around here

where in the world are you ? I'm living in Denmark, and do not se a large price increase, other than on equipment.

Sounds pretty dismal. If it’s as you say, i surely understand. Hope ours an exaggeration from the over magnification of being angry/annoyed in s given moment.

Good luck

With trade in’s, no one should be paying full price.

No one says buy brand new when the resale market gives so many options.

Does AZ have winter rates much like FL does?

Best of luck buddy

Everyone seems to be quitting the game around here
Anybody any GOOD are the ones I see quitting and for the reasons the OP stated. The fun is just gone.