Ouch! Multiple high school players DQ'd due to scorecard...

Rambler

Reaction score
Handicap
9.9, so 10
ALWAYS follow the rule sheet. ALWAYS.

Ouch, do HS matches usually switch tee boxes from hole to hole?

Ouch, do HS matches usually switch tee boxes from hole to hole?

Nope, another reason they should have known better.

As a HS coach, I have no sympathy for them.

ALWAYS follow the rule sheet. ALWAYS.

Agreed. The blue tees could have been at 95 yards for all it mattered. You play the stated tee! If you're really confused and there happens to be a coach from any team nearby, ask him for clarification or if he can find out so a mistake like that isn't made. Sucks that it wasn't just one player, but SEVERAL players at that :/

The executive director of the Oregon School Activities Association said that players and coaches were made aware that they were to play from the blue tees, stating: “It is the first bullet point on the rules sheet."

Yeah, its hard to have sympathy for that. I bet they'll forever be very careful about tee boxes and rule sheets!

Doh! Gotta pay attention. Playing the same tees the entire round is not rocket science

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Rules sheet says play from the blue tees, but they then play a hole from the red tees?!

No sympathy from me if they can't follow what it says on the rules sheet

Hard lesson to learn for sure.

It might sting right now but this could provide some very valuable life lessons as they move toward adulthood. Hopefully their mentors choose to present it as such. The rule sheet seemed clear enough, someone opted to over ride it due to yardage discrepancy. Bad choice.

Tough love but they should have followed the rules.

I could see if they were playing a combo tee or something and the wrong yardage got copied onto the event scorecard, but if the event says "play the blues" you shouldn't even look at the card when walking up to the tee. As others have said, good learning experience.