Wilson Ci9 vs Di11 - looking to upgrade

JiffishHank

Reaction score
Handicap
Quick summary: I've been golfing for about two years or so and have been using a really old set handed down to me from my grandpa. Looking at the trade in value, the brand wasn't even listed, so I'm sure that these irons are extremely old and that they are hurting my game. So I desperately need to look for an upgrade.

Currently I'm around a 25ish handicap, and this is basically playing without a driver - irons off of almost every tee. I feel like if I could get some new irons and then a driver after, I would be in great shape.

I'm basically set on Wilson Staff. I've read that the Di11's are essentially the most forgiving clubs out there, but I want to think long-term as well. I won't be able to buy a new set for a few years after this. Therefore, I feel like the Di11's would be more useful now but not quite as useful later on when compared to the Ci9's? I currently can't work the ball at all due to still learning as well as having a crappy set of clubs, but I definitely want to learn.

Finally, the price difference between the two sets is around $200, with the Di11's being listed as $500 at Dick's and the Ci9's at $300. I am on a tight budget but will spend a little extra money now if necessary.

I'm unable to try these clubs out as well, but they have both gotten great reviews so I have no doubt in my mind that I won't be disappointed with either.

Jiffish,

I would really try and test these/get fitted. There is a review ongoing about the Di11 irons and people from all handicaps seem to be loving these. Good luck